Have you ever heard of Dylan and Jonah?

In an empty afternoon of a chain of long days off due to the influence of global pandemic, I idled away my time lying on my bed, hold a new book I had just given by my “dear” and read page by page. I still remember exactly the moment when I caught the name of a little boy – Dylan Siegel through the smart example of Vĩ Nhân, who is the writer of the book I was reading. Putting the book aside, I quickly went online to find information about Dylan and his “Chocolate bar” book. It was so difficult for me to describe my feeling at that time, really, Dylan has helped me realize that “I still much youth to do something meaningful” Let me share you about the story of Dylan and the great thing he did. Dylan and Jonah are close friends. When Jonah was YHHG7, he had a rare genetic liver disease (GSD). Because of being a best friend of Jonah, Dylan wanted to help Jonah by any way that he could. At that time, all of relatives around him didn’t expected his efforts to be successful for the amount of money to cure for Jonah wasn’t small. In the end of autumn of 2013, Dylan shared to his parents about his plan to help Jonah. Then, he wrote a book called “Chocolate bar” and then asked his parents to print it into 200 copies. Next, they organized the public sale of those 200 copies. Within a few hours, they sold out and raised 6000 USD. Not long after that, they ended up raising a total of $ 1.5 million for research to treat GSD.I don’t really think that a little boy like Dylan created a scientific breakthrough like that. His story is a motivation that speeded me up finding the mission of life. That is the thinking of a way of life: “no waste-but meaningful”.

P/s: If you’re curious about what made Dylan’s “Chocolate bar” book sell so well, I’ll tell you: It’s because of his story and how he inspires you, which is not through the content of the book but the reason that the book is written.

Leave a comment